Michigan Association of Broadcasters elects officers for 2006-2007




The Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB) elected officers for 2006-2007 at its Annual Meeting and Leadership Retreat held July 24-26 at Boyne Mountain Resort in Boyne Falls, Michigan. The newly elected officers are:

• Chairman - Mario Iacobelli, President and CEO of WWTV/WWUP-TV in Cadillac-Traverse City;
• Vice Chairman-Chairman Elect – Bart Brandmiller, Vice President and Market Manager of Clear Channel Lakeshore in Muskegon;
• Treasurer – Diane Kniowski, President and General Manager of WOOD-TV in Grand Rapids;
• At Large – Tom Mogush, General Manager of WMQT-FM/WZAM-AM in Marquette; and
• Immediate Past Chairman – Julie Koehn, President and General Manager of WLEN-FM in Adrian

Mario Iacobelli is President and CEO of WWTV/WWUP-TV in Cadillac-Traverse City. He was born and raised in Detroit, where he graduated in 1960 from the University of Detroit. After college Mr. Iacobelli entered the construction industry where he owned and operated many worldwide offices. In 1982, Mr. Iacobelli formed Heritage Broadcast Company. In 1983, he bought WWTV/WWUP-TV, and has been personally overseeing the station's daily business since 1990.

Bart Brandmiller is Vice President and Market Manager of Clear Channel Radio's five-station cluster (WMUS AM/FM, WMHG AM, WMRR FM, WSHZ FM) in Muskegon, Michigan. Prior to joining Clear Channel, from February 1984 to December 2002, Bart was President and General Manager of Michigan Media. Inc. (WBBL AM, WKLQ FM, WLAV FM, WODJ FM) and Vice President and General Manager of Citadel Radio Corp., both of Grand Rapids, Michigan. He served in sales and sales management in Lima, Ohio, Indianapolis and South Bend, Indiana. He has served as President of the Grand Rapids Area Broadcasters Association, and is a board member of YMCA Camp Manitou-lin.

Diane Kniowski is the President/General Manager of WOOD-TV in Grand Rapids, MI. Diane joined WOOD TV8 in 1993 as the National Sales Manager, and was promoted to the General Sales Manager position in 1996. She reconstructed the sales and traffic departments to maximize inventory and client relations. She launched the installation of a new traffic system within all the LIN Television stations and established the market's leading sales team. She established a Special Projects Director to effectively plan WOOD TV8's involvement in events such as Angel Tree, the West Michigan Grand Prix and the Foremost Championship to build and strengthen WOOD TV8's commitment of community service. In June of 1999, Diane was named President and General Manager. Since that time, Diane has overseen the development and launch of WXSP, the West Michigan UPN affiliate. She has developed strategic partnerships with the local newspapers, and overseen the successful operation of three local television stations; WOOD TV8, WOTV and WXSP. Diane is also an active member in the industry and community as a member of TARPAC (Television and Radio Political Action Committee), the regional chapter of American Women in Radio and Television, TVB (Television Bureau) and Junior Achievement.

Tom Mogush is General Manager of WMQT-FM and WZAM-AM in Marquette. Mogush contributed 15 years to broadcasting Northern Michigan University Hockey on WMQT, including the 1991 NCAA National Championship team. Mogush also serves as President of the Upper Peninsula Radio Broadcast Alliance, serves on the Lake Superior Community Partnership Board of Directors, and was a contributing author of the Roy Williams book "Accidental Magic." Mogush is a 1981 graduate of the University of Minnesota with a degree in Speech Communications/Broadcasting.

Julie Koehn is the President of Lenawee Broadcasting Company, licensee of WLEN-FM in Adrian. She has worked at WLEN-FM since 1985. Throughout her career in broadcasting Ms. Koehn has served on many boards including the March of Dimes in Lenawee County, Lenawee County Communities in Schools, Lenawee County Chamber of Commerce, Adrian Downtown Business Associations as President in 1990-1991 and more. She has also founded the John W. Koehn Memorial Scholarship Fund in 1990 in honor of WLEN and WTWR founder John W. Koehn. She has been a speaker on small market radio during the 1993, 1996, and 1998 National Association of Broadcasters national conventions, the recipient “Best Small Market Idea” award from the NAB in 1996, and the recipient of the Lenawee County Chamber of Commerce Small Business Person of the Year Award in 1993. Ms. Koehn received her bachelor of science degree from Michigan State University with a dual major in Industrial & Labor Relations and Political Science in 1985.

Elected to serve first terms on the board are Gayle Olson, President and General Manager of Midwest Family Broadcasting in Benton Harbor, and Steve Wasserman, President and General Manager of WDIV-TV in Detroit.

Returning to the MAB Board are: Duane Alverson, President of Macdonald Broadcasting in Saginaw; Don Backus, Vice President of Sales and Marketing at ENCO Systems in Southfield; Al Blinke, Vice President and General Manager of WNEM-TV in Saginaw; Julie Brinks, Vice President and General Manager of WPBN/WTOM-TV in Traverse City; Sue Goldsen, Vice President and Director of Sales and Marketing for Jackson Radio Works in Jackson; Paul Grzebik, Regional Sales Manager for Axcera in Southfield; Michael King, Vice President and General Manager of WILX-TV in Lansing; Carol Lawrence-Dobrusin, Vice President and General Manager of Radio One in Detroit; Michael Murri, General Sales Manager for WXYZ-TV in Detroit; Judy Ouvry, Director of Manistee Operations for Lake Michigan Broadcasting, and Palmer Pyle, President of Northern Star Broadcasting in Traverse City.







Home Page | Contact | Station Listings | History | Links

Search | About | Shop | Sitemap | Weather



Twitter Facebook E-mail Feed


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Mike Austerman published on July 29, 2006 5:30 AM.

Metro Detroit: Newsmakers July 28, 2006 was the previous entry in this blog.

Michigan Public Broadcasters recognize 2006 Pioneer Award winners is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.