Metro Detroit: Newsmakers June 4, 2007




Former programmer, jock Paul Christy dies at age 69 reports that Paul Christy, who held various on-air and programming positions at Detroit area stations WCAR, WABX, WKSG, WMXD, and WWKR, passed away earlier today. Christy also spent time at legendary Top 40 outlet WCFL.

A funeral mass for Christy is scheduled for Wednesday, June 6th, at St. Michael's Catholic Church in Grand Ledge. Visitation will be held on Tuesday, June 5th from 6-8 pm at the Palmer, Bush, and Jensen Family Funeral Homes' Delta Chapel on Saginaw St. in Lansing. Visitation at the funeral home will continue Wednesday morning beginning at 10 am until service time at the church.

Giordano To WQKI For Morning Mojo Fun
RACHEL GIORDANO is heading to CLEAR CHANNEL Top 40 WKQI (CHANNEL 955)/DETROIT as MOJO's morning show producer, coming from the same past at LINCOLN Top 40 WSTR (STAR 94)/ATLANTA. (Mon, 6/4)

Bloomfield Hills School District radio students win 27 total state broadcasting awards in 2006-07 school year

WBFH broadcasters top all high school broadcasters in Michigan for fifth year in a row

Bloomfield Hills School District radio broadcasting students won more state broadcasting awards from two different state broadcasting associations than any other school in Michigan. The students broadcast on the district’s FM radio station WBFH, also known as “The Biff”.

The first competition was sponsored by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB). WBFH students won three first place awards, one second place award and four third place awards at their annual conference held March 14, 2007 at the Lansing Center.

The MAB received 525 entries from 30 schools for their annual High School and College Broadcast Awards competition. WBFH students won nine of the 20 awards given out in the high school radio division, the most by any high school in the state for the fifth year in a row.

The second competition was sponsored by the Michigan Association of Educational Broadcasters (MAEB), a group of high school and college broadcasters from around the state. Fourteen Biff students won a total of 19 awards, again the most by any high school in Michigan.

Those awards were presented at MAEB’s Honors Night held at Novi High School April 25, 2007.

The following is a list of WBFH students who won state broadcasting awards this year:
- Andover senior Kevin Qian won four awards: 3rd Place, Promotional Announcement (MAB); Gold, Production (with Mike Tully) (MAEB); Silver, DJ Aircheck (with Mike Tully) (MAEB); Bronze, Interview (MAEB).

- Andover senior Wade Fink won four awards: 2nd Place, Talk Show (MAB); 3rd Place, Sports Play-by-Play (MAB); Gold, Sports Play-by-Play (MAEB); Silver, Newscast (MAEB).

- Andover junior Corey Berkowitz won six awards: 1st Place, DJ Aircheck (MAB); 3rd Place, Talk Show (with Evan Schuster) (MAB); Gold, DJ Aircheck (MAEB); Gold, Interview (MAEB); Gold, Production (MAEB); Gold, Newscast (MAEB).

- Andover junior Andrew Blumberg won four awards: 1st Place, Public Service Announcement (with Jaclyn Talon) (MAB); 1st Place, Newscast (MAB); Silver, Production (MAEB); Bronze, Newscast (MAEB).

- Lahser junior Mike Tully won three awards: 3rd Place, Promotional Announcement (with Kevin Qian) (MAB); Gold, Production (with Kevin Qian) (MAEB); Silver, DJ Aircheck (with Kevin Qian) (MAEB).

- Andover junior Jaclyn Talon won three awards: 1st Place, Newscast (MAB); 1st Place, Public Service Announcement (with Andrew Blumberg) (MAB); Silver, Production (with Keifer Wells) (MAEB).

- Andover junior Evan Schuster won three awards: 3rd Place, Talk Show (with Corey Berkowitz) (MAB); 3rd Place, MHSAA Sports PSA (MAB); Gold, Interview (MAEB).
Andover junior Henry Edelman won two awards: Silver, Newscast (MAEB); Silver, Production (MAEB).

- Andover junior Greg Seraydarian won one award: Silver, Play-by-Play (MAEB).

- Andover junior Keifer Wells won one award: Silver, Production (with Jaclyn Talon) (MAEB).

- Lahser senior J.D. Gurganus won one award: Bronze, Interview (MAEB).

- Lahser junior Eric Bowers won one award: Bronze, Production (with Jon Miller) (MAEB).

- Lahser junior Jon Miller won one award: Bronze, Production (with Eric Bowers) (MAEB).

- Andover sophomore Billy Whiting won one award: Bronze, Play-by-Play (MAEB).

It’s been a very good year for Biff broadcasters. In March, WBFH students won 17 awards in a national competition and won 1st Place, Best High School Station in the John Drury High School Radio Awards. Station Manager Pete Bowers, Assistant Manager/Chief Engineer Randy Carr, Remote Supervisor Ron Wittebols and Corey Berkowitz accepted the top award at the ceremony held March 3, 2007 at North Central College in Naperville, Illinois.

Fink is graduating having won nine national and 11 state awards for a career total of 20 awards, second most in Biff history. His nine national awards are the most ever won by a WBFH radio student. Qian was WBFH’s Operations Manager this year and won a career total of seven state broadcasting awards.

Qian was pleased with the performance of the Biff students this year in national and state competitions: “It was great to finish off my senior year being number one in the nation and number one in the state”.

Award-winning radio students will be recognized by the Board of Education at their regular meeting June 7, 2007.

The Biff is a non-commercial, educational radio station broadcasting at 88.1 on the FM dial or online at







Home Page | Contact | Station Listings | History | Links

Search | About | Shop | Sitemap | Weather



Twitter Facebook E-mail Feed


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Mike Austerman published on June 4, 2007 7:43 PM.

Mid-Michigan: Newsmakers June 4, 2007 was the previous entry in this blog.

Northern Michigan: Newsmakers June 4, 2007 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.